

Scientific Division (SD)

Chair

Prof. Philippe GILLERY Service de Biochimie - Pharmacologie Toxicologie

Pôle de Biologie Médicale et Pathologie CHU de Reims Pôle de Biologie Territoriale 51092 Reims Cedex - FRANCE

E-mail: pgillery@chu-reims.fr

Prof. Christa M. COBBAERT

Prof. Christa M. COBBAER I Clinical Chemist Head of the Department of Clinical Chemistry Leiden University Medical Center 2300 RC Leiden – THE NETHERLANDS E-mail: C.M.Cobbaert@lumc.nl

Secretary

Prof. Garry JOHN
Department of Clinical Biochemistry and Immunology

Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital Norwich NR4 7UY - UK E-mail: g.john@nhs.net

Members

Dr. Barnali DAS

Lead Consultant, Biochemistry & Immunology Kokilaben Dhirubhai Ambani Hospital & Medical Research Institute, Mumbai-400053 - INDIA E-mail: drbarnalid@gmail.co

Dr. Konstantinos MAKRIS

Clinical Biochemist Clinical Biochemistry Department KAT General Hospital Kifissia, Athens - GREECE E-mail: kostas.makris.km@ @gmail.com

Prof. Mario PLEBANI

Full Professor of Clinical Biochemistry and Clinical Molecular Biology Clinical Monecular Biology
Chief Department of Laboratory Medicine
University Hospital – Padova
Dean of the Medicial School
University of Padova – ITALY
E-mail: mario.plebani@unipd.it

Corporate Representative Dr. Michael ROTTMANN

Dr. Michael ROI IMANN
Roche Diagnostics GmbH
Director Assay Development
Indication: Tyroid, Sepsis, RA, Growth Centralised
and Point of Care solutions
82377 Penzberg - GERMANY
e-mail: michael.rottmann@roche.com

Bureau International des Poids et

Mesures BIPM Observer

Dr. Ralf D. JOSEPHS
Principal Chemist
Pavillon de Breteuil
92312 Sèvres Cedex - FRANCE
E-mail: ralf.josephs@bipm.org

European Commission -JRC Observer

Dr. Liesbet DEPREZ
Project Officer
Directorate General Joint Research Centre
Reference Materials Unit
2440 Geel – BELGIUM
E-mail: Liesbet.deprez@ec.europa.eu

ICHCLR Observer Prof. Ian S. YOUNG Professor of Medicine

Queen's University Belfast The Center for Public Health 1st floor - ICS B block Royal Victoria Hospital BT12 GBJ - Belfast - UK E-mail: I.Young@gub.ac.ul

JCTLM Consultant

Pr. Greg MILLER
Professor of Pathology
Co-Director of Clinical Chemistry
Director of Pathology Information Systems
Virginia Commonwealth University Health System
Richmond, VA 23298-0286 - USA Email: greg.miller@vcuhealth.org

NIBSC Consultant

Head, Biotherapeutics Division National Institute for Biological Standards and Control - A Centre of the MHRA Hertfordshire, EN6 3QG, UK E-mail: Chris.Burns@nibsc.org

NIFDC Observer

Dr. Yang Zhen
Deputy Director General
National Institutes for Food and Drug Controls (NIFDC) - P.R. CHINA E-mail: yangzhen@nifdc.org.cn

NIST Consultant

NIST CONSUITANT
Dr. Karen W. PHINNEY
Leader, Bioanalytical Science Group
Biomolecular Measurement Division
National Institute of Standards
and Technology (NIST)
Gaithersburg, MD 20899-8314 - USA
E-mail: karen phinnay@nist.cov E-mail: karen.phinney@nist.go

Prof. Philippe Gillery - IFCC SD Chair From:

Date November 24th, 2022

Ref: 8.2.27 Call for Nominations for Membership of Committee on

Bone Metabolism (C-BM)

To: **IFCC Full Member Societies' National Representatives**

> **IFCC Affiliate Societies' Representatives IFCC Corporate Members' Representatives**

Dear Colleagues,

In January 2019 the IFCC created a Committee on "Bone Metabolism (C-BM)", formed by the joining of the already existing Working Groups:

The terms of reference and current projects of the C-BM are as follows:

- Standardization of Bone Markers Assays (WG-BMA) in collaboration with IOF
- Parathyroid Hormone (WG-PTH)
- Vitamin D Standardization Program (WG-Vit D)

The C-BM under the Chairmanship of Prof. Etienne Cavalier, Head of the Department of Clinical Chemistry at the University of Liège (etienne.cavalier@chu.ulg.ac.be), intends to replace one member, whose time in office will begin in January 2023 for a 3 years' term (ending December 2025). A second three-year term is allowed following satisfactory review at the end of the first term by the Scientific Division Executive Committee following consultation with the C-BM Chairman. We would particularly welcome applications from young scientists and candidates with experience in metrological, analytical and clinical aspects of evaluation of bone metabolism markers, although all applications will be given careful consideration.

The C-BM Current Projects are as follows:

1. PTH assays

- Create liaison with International Endocrinological, Rheumatological and Nephological organizations
- Define the measurand (what we need to measure for all clinical situations)
- Develop a reference measurement procedure for PTH(1-84) and moieties of clinical interest
- Evaluate the commutability of PTH International standard PTH 95/646 and the need to create primary reference material
- Replicate the RMP in a second lab and create a network of 3-4 reference labs
- Create an accuracy-based external quality assessment scheme
- Constitute an appropriate and international panel of sera and plasma to establish PTH reference intervals
- Specify performance criteria for RMP and routine methods
- Provide services to manufacturers, notably by providing a reliable source for primary reference materials
- Post-survey of the standardization effects

2. Bone markers assays

Continue the liaison with IOF and extend to other relevant international societies

Current CTX and PINP project:

- Complete the multicenter study and harmonize CTX and PINP assays
- Collaborate with EQAS provider(s) to improve the surveys
- Constitute an appropriate and international panel of sera and plasma to establish CTX and PINP reference intervals
- Post-survey of the standardization/harmonization effects.

Future projects:

Select biomarkers to be standardized/harmonized (g.: bone alkaline phosphatase, FGF-23, sclerostin).

3. Vitamin D metabolites

- Re-evaluate current VDSP performance guidelines for 25(OH)D
- Establish VDSP performance guidelines for 24,25(OH)2D, C3-epimer and vitamin D binding protein
- Post-survey of the standardization effects
- Propose services to reassess the true value of 25OHD obtained in former epidemiological or interventional studies that had used non-standardized methods

Nominations should be sent directly to the IFCC Office ($\underline{paola.bramati@ifcc.org}$) by using the enclosed application form, **before December 20**th, **2022.**

Yours sincerely

Prof. Philippe Gillery, MD, PhD

Chair IFCC Scientific Division