

Scientific Division (SD)

Chair **Prof. Philippe GILLERY**

Laboratory of Biochemistry Pharmacology-Toxicology Medical Biology and Pathology Division Maison Blanche Hospital University Hospital of Reims 51092 Reims Cedex - FRANCE E-mail: pgillery@chu-reims.fr

Vice-Chair Prof. Christa M. COBBAERT

Clinical Chemist Head of the Department of Clinical Chemistry Leiden University Medical Center 2300 RC Leiden – THE NETHERLANDS E-mail: <u>C.M.Cobbaert@lumc.nl</u>

Secretary Mr. Joseph PASSARELLI

Scientific Relations
Roche Diagnostics Corporation
Research and Development
Indianapolis, Indiana 46250-0457 - USA E-mail: joseph.passarelli@roche.com

Members

Dr. Barnali DAS

Consultant, Biochemistry & Immunology Division, Kokilaben Dhirubhai Ambani Hospital & Medical Research Institute, Mumbai-400053 - INDIA

Dr. Konstantinos MAKRIS

Clinical Biochemist Clinical Biochemistry Department KAT General Hospital
Kifissia, Athens - GREECE
E-mail: kostas.makris.km@gmail.com

Prof. Mario PLEBANI

Full Professor of Clinical Biochemistry and Clinical Molecular Biology Chief Department of Laboratory Medicine University Hospital – Padova Dean of the Medical School University of Padova – ITALY E-mail: mario.plebani@unipd.ir

Corporate Representative Mr. James F. PIERSON-PERRY

Principal Key Expert Global Assay Development, Glasgow Site Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics - USA E-mail: James.f.pierson-perry@sier

European Commission -JRC Observer Dr. Heinz SCHIMMEL

Project Officer
Directorate General Joint Research Centre Reference Materials Unit 2440 Geel – BELGIUM E-mail: heinz.schimmel@ec.europa.eu

ICHCLR Observer

Dr. Greg MILLERProfessor of Pathology
Co-Director of Clinical Chemistry Director of Pathology Information Systems
Virginia Commonwealth University Health System
Richmond, VA 23298-0286 - USA Email: greg.miller@vcuhe

JCTLM Consultant Prof. Ian S.YOUNG

Professor of Medicine Queen's University Belfast Email: I.Young@qub.ac.uk

NIBSC Consultant Dr. Chris BURNS PhD

Head, Biotherapeutics Division National Institute for Biological Standards and Control - A Centre of the MHRA Hertfordshire, EN6 3QG, UK E-mail: Chris.Burns@nibs

NIFDC Observer To be nominated

NIST Consultant Dr. Karen W. PHINNEY

Leader, Bioanalytical Science Group Biomolecular Measurement Division National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
Gaithersburg, MD 20899-8314 - USA E-mail: karen.phinney@nist.gov

Prof. Philippe Gillery – IFCC SD Chair From:

December 13th, 2019 Date

8.2.25 Call for Nominations for Membership of Committee on Ref:

Standardization of Thyroid Function Tests (C-STFT)

To: All National Representatives of the Full and Affiliate Member Societies All Corporate Members' Representatives

Dear Colleagues,

The Committee on Standardization of Thyroid Function Tests (C-STFT), under the chairmanship of Dr. Hubert Vesper, intends to fill one vacant position.

The terms of reference and current projects of the C-STFT are as follows:

Terms of Reference

- Establish a system to maintain traceability of free thyroid hormone and TSH measurements.
- Coordinate programs to evaluate free thyroid and TSH assays with regards to their analytical performance.
- Develop reference intervals for free thyroid hormones and TSH.
- Liaise with key stakeholders to promote the use of the standardized assays in routine clinical practice and public health, to ensure analytical performance requirements meet clinical needs, and to help with developing and establishing reference intervals

Current Projects

- Establish Reference Laboratory Network for free thyroxine (FT4) measurements.
- Implement standardization of FT4 assays and harmonization of thyroid stimulating hormone internationally.
- Coordinate the development of reference intervals using standardized/harmonized assays.
- Educate and engage stakeholders about the standardization/harmonization activities on a national/regional level

Information on the current composition of the C-STFT and its activities are available on the IFCC Website at following link: https://www.ifcc.org/ifcc-scientific-division/sd-committees/c-stft/

More specific information can be obtained directly from Dr. Hubert Vesper (https://www.ncber.gov).

Candidates would share their knowledge and expertise and assist in the design and execution of projects related to the terms of reference. This includes participation in conference calls (2-3 times per year), in in-person meetings at least once per year, and other forms of communications such as email. IFCC covers economy class travel expenses, hotel and ground transportation for the in-person meeting, accordingly to IFCC rules.

Nominations should be sent directly to the IFCC Office (paola.bramati@ifcc.org) by using the enclosed application form, before January 30th, 2020

Following approval, the candidates will be appointed for a three-year term (commencing in February 2020). A second three-year term is allowed following satisfactory review at the end of the first term by the Scientific Division Executive Committee following consultation with the C-STFT Chairman.

Sincerely yours

Prof. Philippe Gillery Chair Scientific Division